The lost art of ROT-13-ing spoilers

USA 2 – GHA 1. There, I spoiled it. I’d feel bad except that it’s unlikely I’m the one that spoiled it for you.

For the record, I’m not recording matches so I wasn’t particularly bothered by the fact that it was impossible to avoid learning of America’s football soccer triumph this morning, but some people still do cherish the opportunity to view recorded matches. I’m in at least one private chat group where someone did specifically request that no World Cup results are discussed because he plans to do this a lot (living on the other side of the planet does pose a challenge to viewing all matches, timezone-wise).

The first spoiler that I noticed this morning:

SavedYouAClick is supposed to help you avoid clickbait, which is a noble cause. But I’m not sure revealing the outcome of a World Cup match really counts as a step forward in the war against clickbait.

Their excitement may be understandable, however, as even the Big G seemed unable to keep it to themselves with this lovely doodle:

Google Doodle USA 2 - GHA 1

It seems long gone are the days of ROT-13-ing spoilers.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment